IIT Kanpur celebrates 64 years of Excellence on the Institute’s Foundation Day

  • Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and former Director of IIT Kanpur graced as the Chief Guest
  • 22 recipients were felicitated across categories – Institute Fellows, Distinguished Alumnus Awards, Distinguished Service Awards, Young Alumnus Awards, and Satyendra K. Dubey Memorial Award

India, November 3, 2023: The Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK) celebrated its 64th Foundation Day on 2nd November with great enthusiasm. The celebrations began with the lighting of the lamp by Prof. S. Ganesh, Officiating Director, IIT Kanpur, in the presence of Prof. Kantesh Balani, Dean of Resources & Alumni office (DoRA), IIT Kanpur; Dr. Nishanth Nair, Dean of Digital Infrastructure and Automation; and Officiating Dean of Faculty Affairs, IIT Kanpur; and Mr. Kapil Kaul, CEO IIT Kanpur Development Foundation, among other dignitaries. Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and former Director of IIT Kanpur graced the event as the distinguished Chief Guest.  

Celebrations were set into motion on November 1st with ‘Antarang’, a vibrant cultural program presented by the students of IIT Kanpur. An exhibition by the APPROACH cell (Appreciation and Promotion of Art, Culture and Heritage), IIT Kanpur, was further elevated with the traditional lighting of the lamp, symbolizing the start of a significant gathering. Prof. Sameer Khandekar, Dean of Students Affairs, IIT Kanpur, set the tone of the event with his welcome address. The cultural program started off with a classical dance performance by a team of women students from the institute. The evening culminated with a mesmerizing Kathak recital by Shri Rajendra Gangani, a leading exponent of the Jaipur Gharana style of Kathak and recipient of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for his contributions to the field of Kathak.

Invited dignitaries and awardees graced the evening on November 2. On the occasion, Prof. S. Ganesh, Officiating Director, IIT Kanpur delivered the welcome address, highlighting key achievements and future prospects of the institute in the field of research and academia, that include the establishment of The Mehta Family Centre for Engineering in Medicine, plan for a School of Sustainability, and the recent collaboration with the Kalyan Singh Super Specialty Cancer Institute, among other initiatives. He also talked about the new eMasters courses that reflect the dedication of the institute to stay ahead in terms of knowledge and technology. “The 64th Foundation Day is a celebration of our journey from inception to the impactful institution IIT Kanpur has grown into today. It was especially a happy moment to welcome as Chief Guest, our former Director, Dr. Abhay Karandikar who is now the Secretary, Department of Science and Technology. As we celebrate this day and honour our alumni and other awardees, the institute is committed to striving harder for enriching research and development across sectors, and nurturing talents that can make a global impact,” said Prof. S. Ganesh.

ALSO READ: Orchids The International School conducts an exclusive Masterclass for students with renowned Indian Footballer Bhaichung Bhutia

Attending the event as the Chief Guest, Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and former Director of IIT Kanpur, said, “This day instils immense pride and brings back fond memories as we reflect on the institute’s journey in the fields of education, science, and technology. It has been a journey of continuous development, learning, and unwavering commitment to the highest values and mission. IIT Kanpur, through collaboration, scholarships, and global recognition, has carved a significant place in the landscape of innovation. I’m delighted to be part of this occasion and I congratulate all the awardees.”

A total of 22 recipients were honored across various categories, which included Distinguished Alumnus Awards Institute Fellows, Distinguished Service Awards, Young Alumnus Awards, and the Satyendra K. Dubey Memorial Award.

This year, the Distinguished Alumnus Awards were given to 12 alumni, including the Honorable Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh, Shri Durga Shanker Mishra; Mr. Anup Bagchi, Managing Director & CEO of ICICI Prudential Life Insurance; Mr. Rajnish Kumar, Group CPTO & Co-founder of ixigo.com; and Mr. Anil Bansal, President of First National Realty Management and a Board Member of the Indo American Arts Council, among others.

Prof. Deepak Kunzru, Dean, Graduate School & Research and Distinguished Professor at Ahmedabad University; Prof. Achla M. Raina, a former professor in Dept. of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT Kanpur; Mr. Rakesh Gangwal, Co-founder of IndiGo Airlines; and Mr. Muktesh Pant, Independent Director of Beyond Meat, were awarded the prestigious Institute Fellow Recognition for their substantial contributions to the institute’s advancement.

Online Internship with Certification

The Distinguished Services Awards were given to Mr. Gautam Khanna, CEO of P.D. Hinduja Hospitals; and Mr. Jai Shankar Sharma, Mentor in IIT Kanpur, Bangalore Chapter at Alumni Association, IIT, Kanpur, for rendering exemplary service by becoming goodwill ambassadors for the institute. Dr. Mohit Bansal, the John R & Louise S Parker Professor in the Computer Science Department at UNC Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina; and Dr. Pravesh K. Kothari, an Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University, were honored with Young Alumnus Awards. The prestigious Satyendra K. Dubey Memorial Award was bestowed upon Mr. Somay Vinayak Munde, Superintendent of Police, Latur District, Government of India, and Mr. Ashok Kamath, Chairman of the Akshara Foundation.

The celebrations concluded with a vote of thanks by Dr. Nishanth Nair, Dean of Digital Infrastructure and Automation; and Officiating Dean of Faculty Affairs, IIT Kanpur, followed by the National Anthem.

About IIT Kanpur:

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur was established on 2nd November 1959 by an Act of Parliament. The institute has a sprawling campus spread over 1055 acres with large pool of academic and research resources spanning across 19 departments, 22 centres, and 3 Interdisciplinary programs in engineering, science, design, humanities, and management disciplines with more than 550  full-time faculty members and approximately 9000 students. In addition to formal undergraduate and postgraduate courses, the institute has been active in research and development in areas of value to both industry and government.

This year educate yourself and develop your career with EasyShiksha

Download this article as PDF to read offline: